The Canon of Scripture, Part 1: The Apocrypha

J-M's History Corner

The canon of Scripture is a settled issue, isn’t it?  You’ve got your 66 books total, 39 in the Old Testament (24 by the Jewish counting) and 27 in the New Testament.  However, when you do the research, things are not so simple.  There are many “other” books claiming to be Scripture, a number of them accepted by various denominations and/or included in various Bibles over the years.  Are they Scripture?  Or just heretical additions?

The most well-known (and most widely accepted) body of these “extra” works is the Apocrypha (which means “Hidden”).  People disagree as to which books constitute the Apocrypha.  For the purpose of this article, the word refers to the following 18 books:

  • Baruch
  • Letter of Jeremiah
  • Tobit
  • Prayer of Manasseh
  • Psalms 151-160
  • Wisdom of Solomon
  • Wisdom of Ben Sirach (also known as Ecclesiasticus)
  • “Additions” to Esther
  • Judith
  • Prayer of Azariah
  • Susanna
  • Bel and the Dragon
  • 1…

View original post 4,062 more words

5 thoughts on “The Canon of Scripture, Part 1: The Apocrypha

  1. Quite an undertaking here. I have never been quite sure how to take the books in the Apocrypha. My mother gave me a New English Bible with Apocrypha when I was in college. I don’t think I’ve read it since then though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s